PhD Symposium

The ICWE 2013 PhD symposium offers a unique opportunity for PhD students to explore and develop their research interests in an interdisciplinary workshop, under the guidance of a panel of senior researchers in the field of Web Engineering. Our aims are to:

  • Offer a friendly forum for students to discuss their work and receive constructive feedback;
  • Offer relevant information on issues important to doctoral candidates;
  • Nurture a community of researchers. The PhD symposium is designed for students currently registered for a PhD in Web Engineering and related field, and is open to students at any stage of their PhD studies.

Nonetheless, ideal candidates should have worked on their dissertation for at least 6 months; thus, they should have chosen a research focus and possibly also have selected theoretical and methodological approaches and begun to produce results. Selection of participants will be based on the quality of the submission and its relevance to Web engineering field in a broad sense (see the conference topics).

Selected contributions

  • Samantha Dixon, A Modelling Based Notation for the Automated Extraction and Analysis of Social Networking Data.
  • Janosch Zbick, A web-based approach for designing and deploying flexible learning tools.
  • Sukru Eraslan, Yeliz Yesilada and Simon Harper, Understanding Eye Tracking Data for Re-engineering Web Pages.
  • Maximilian Speicher, Andreas Both and Martin Gaedke, Was that Webpage Pleasant to Use? Predicting Usability Quantitatively from Interactions.
  • Han-Gyu Ko and In-Young Ko , Toward Efficient Semantic Annotation: A Semantic Cloud Generation Scheme from Linked Data.
  • José Matías Rivero and Gustavo Rossi, MockupDD: Facilitating agile support for Model-Driven Web Engineering.
  • Martin Leginus and Peter Dolog, Tag clouds as means of navigation support in social systems.
  • Félix Albertos Marco, Supporting Offline Interaction with Web Sites Resilient to Interruptions Applied to E-learning Environments.

PhD Symposium Committee


Oscar Diaz, University of the Basque Country, Spain

Marco Winckler, University Paul Sabatier, France


Sven Casteleyn, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Antonella De Angeli, University of Manchester, UK

Martin Gaedke, Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany

Irene Garrigós, Universidad de Alicante, Spain

Nora Koch, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany

Emilia Mendes, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden

MoiraNorrie, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Gustavo Rossi, Universidad National de La Plata, Argentina

For additional information, please contact send a email to;


Social networks


Proceedings and Postproceedings published by